Skip to main content


The 28th Space Photovoltaic Research and Technology (SPRAT) Conference, sponsored by NASA’s Glenn Research Center, will be held September 4 – 6, 2024 in Cleveland, Ohio. At this conference, researchers and users discuss current trends, issues, and mission applications in the development and use of photovoltaic (PV) systems for space. This meeting is fully in-person and will not include a hybrid option.

As always, there will be no registration fee to attend SPRAT in 2024.

At the 27th SPRAT, we highlighted photovoltaic technologies that support NASA’s Artemis program to return humans to the lunar surface and extend our reach to Mars, discussed a wide variety of ground and flight-based characterization techniques, explored various solar cell research and development efforts, and more.

Topics for 2024

Topics of interest for this year’s SPRAT include but are not limited to:

The Call for Abstracts will be posted in the coming months.

Please direct any questions to Meghan Bush.

The Irving Weinberg Award

The Irving Weinberg Award was established in 1995 and is dedicated to the memory of Dr. Irving Weinberg (1919-1995), a leading contributor to the field of space photovoltaic research and development at NASA Glenn Research Center. It honors his accomplishments as a researcher, leader, and mentor to a new generation of space photovoltaic scientists and engineers.

The award is presented at every SPRAT conference to an individual who has made significant contributions to the field of space photovoltaics and represents the dedication, diligence, and leadership qualities exhibited by Dr. Weinberg during his career.

We are currently accepting nominations for this year’s Irving Weinberg Award. Details on the nomination package can be found here: Weinberg Nomination 2024. Nominations are due by July 12th, 2024.

Past Irving Weinberg Award Recipients
Name Conference Date
Dr. Chandra Goradia 14th SPRAT Oct. 24 – 26, 1995
Dr. Masafumi Yamaguchi 15th SPRAT June 10 – 12, 1997
Dr. Dennis Flood 16th SPRAT Aug. 31 – Sept. 2, 1999
Mr. Henry Curtis 17th SPRAT Sept. 11 – 13, 2001
Dr. Bruce Anspaugh 18th SPRAT Sept. 16 – 18, 2003
Dr. Geoffrey Summers 19th SPRAT Sept. 20 – 22, 2005
Dr. Dean C. Marvin 20th SPRAT Sept. 25 – 27, 2007
Dr. Ed Gaddy 21st SPRAT Oct. 6 – 8, 2009
Dr. Robert W. Francis 22nd SPRAT Sept. 20 – 22, 2011
Dr. Paul Sharps 23rd SPRAT Oct. 28 – 30, 2014
Dr. Mark Stan 24th SPRAT Sept. 20 – 22, 2016
Mr. David Wilt 25th SPRAT Sept. 19 – 21, 2018
Dr. Sheila Bailey 27th SPRAT Aug. 2 – 4, 2022

Registration Information

Registration for the 28th SPRAT is not yet opened – stay tuned!

If you would like to be added to the SPRAT mailing list, please contact Meghan Bush.

Provide feedback